top of page
  • Ana Muresan

7// Planning- photoshoot

CONCEPT

Why should we always find a meaning behind our ideas? Why cant an aestethic experiment or trial be just that? Just an idea we liked and were intrigued about, that we wanted to try and were happy with the outcome. We, humans always like to label and put everything into a box, deciding on a meaning and a concept, up to the point where everything becomes meaningless and we fail to understand who the other one actually is.


I believe not everything should have a concept, and I believe and will argue that this photoshoot, in fact, had no previously established concept or idea. The idea for this photoshoot came to life after a quick Pinterest search. It means nothing, communicates nothing, there is no psychological or philosofical meaning... yet.


The outcome of the photoshoot and how the photographs actually end up looking, bring on new meaning and concepts, new interpretations.

So why should i decide on the concept before I've even done the photoshoot, before getting the chance to see the model, feel the atmosphere, feel the smell and feel of the place and figure out how i want to take my photos and how i want them to look?


I realised that I wanted my expression tools to be colors and light and I decided I wanted to work on decomposing lights in order to express feelings and make statements. I wanted to play along the idea that the color spectrum, while being a spectrum of colors can also communicate a spectrum of feelings.

To find out more about this, I did a little research on color psychology and what colors represent.


<-- Here is an image showing the meanings behind every color and what they represent.





PROPS:

In order to communicate my concept and ideas and be able to use very saturated and bright colours I decided I wanted to use LED lights. The lights have a RGB colourway base - red , green, blue, from which you can then create and pick any colour you want.


Colours are given to us as children as the first ways and tools for expression. Before having the ability to speak or before we are aware of our own identity, we are taught to express our ideas through colours. We first learn the language of colour to express ourselves, with the symbolic meanings that someone else puts on colours, and as we develop into our own self we start to question those stereotypes regarding colours and the hidden meaning and boxes that society puts you into depending on colours you like.


This issue of the magazine, is about deconstructing the stereotypes that society puts on us; colour choices, clothes, ways of expression. And about building a new story on who we really are, about our originality, expression and creativity.



Continuing on this idea, i used colour and a mix of shqapes and patterns to illustrate the variety youthful creative minds and the numerous ways of expession that in the end all starts from black.


Model

For the model, I wanted to use my colleague on this magazine, Irina Cuc.

She has very defined and expressive facial features that I think I could highlight well and use to my advantage. Her short hair would give more simplicity yet still uniqueness to my photohsoot..


HELP:

To help me with the props and lighting I asked our other colleague on the flair magazine, Dan Eremeciuc.






4 views

Comments


bottom of page